About us

PATRIMOINE INDUSTRIEL WALLONIE-BRUXELLES asbl

Introduction

The Origins of P.I.W.B. : highlights

Until the 1960s, the majority of even the most enlightened of Belgium’s opinion leaders were barely aware of the historic value of the material remains of the industrial past. There were, of course, some happy exceptions, such as the rescuers of the Grand Hornu site, the promoters of the future Liège iron and coal museum, and isolated amateurs and researchers, such as René Evrard in Liège and Georges van den Abeelen in Brussels. A great deal is owed to them, for they foresaw that, under the repeated hammer-blows of technological progress and economic change, the businesses that grew out of the Industrial Revolution would undergo profound changes, or even disappear. Now, the time was right for more systematic rescue procedures, for other countries were already showing the way, such as the United Kingdom (praise where praise is due!) with the Ironbridge complex, and Sweden and Germany.
 

In 1973, Georges van den Abeelen created the "Centre d'archéologie industrielle" (Industrial Archaeology Centre) where the exhibition "L'homme et la machine" (Man and Machine) held in Brussels two years later, was to trigger real interest in the subject in Belgium, supported by historians and archaeologists who came from other arenas, but were oriented towards this new field of investigation, including Marinette Bruwier, Jacques Stiennon, Luc-Francis Génicot, and others who, much earlier, had touched on the subject almost without realising it – but very well – rather like Mr. Jourdain speaking prose. 1978 saw the birth in Flanders of the “Vlaamse Vereeniging voor Industriële Archeologie” (the V.V.I.A.), led by young, dynamic individuals who were totally dedicated to this little-known area. The result of this initiative was quite quick, for the Dutch-speaking association was soon to play a major part on the national stage and eventually found itself representing the whole of Belgium, even though it had initially been founded to illustrate the contribution of Flanders to industrial archaeology. A strange paradox considering that this region came to industrialisation quite late, unlike Wallonia, which came second only to England. Meanwhile, a world industrial archaeology association, the TICCIH, had been founded in Sweden, in 1978. Since then it has been the top authority in this sector and regularly holds international conferences, one of which was jointly organised with PIWB in Belgium in 1990.

Logo 1984-1987       Logo 1987-1992

 

The ‘70s were clearly marked by an extraordinary burgeoning of research, projects and reports on industrial heritage. From then on, rescue and rehabilitation were firmly on the agenda – occasionally neglecting the need for choices, funding and long-term feasibility. However this may be, French-speaking Belgium had to claim its place in the context of on-going federalisation and out of simple respect for its historic identity, where industry has played such a large part. Thus, encouraged and supported by the Executive of the French Community, the non-profit association “Patrimoine Industriel Wallonie-Bruxelles” was founded on 22nd February 1984; I had the honour of chairing it from the outset, and of holding this post throughout the first ten years of its existence. The thirty-four founder members were driven by the same wish, based on both scientific concerns and issues of identity, to defend and promote their community’s industrial heritage. A liaison bulletin, “Industrial Heritage”, was set up the same year. After first modest “desk top” edition, No. 2 was a proper printed version. Almost a quarter of a century later, this journal is still making a valued contribution to its field. Articles, reports, accounts, and brief news items provide members and others with reliable information and, it is hoped, a stimulant for their particular areas of interest.
 

Again in 1984, the Belgian section of the TICCIH, “TICCIH Belgium”, was set up, this time by balancing the new P.I.W.B. with the older V.V.I.A.

Logo 1993-1997

The PIWB had a lot to do, as its area of interest was new at that time. The major sites that had been rehabilitated had to be promoted, while the preservation of those where this was still an option had to be encouraged. It also had to run an association covering a very wide area and requiring the Board to do a great deal of travelling, both to diversify its meeting places and to take in differing local realities. In 1987, these trips were extended to the members themselves, enabling them to visit the various sites of interest during organised excursions within Belgium and, from 1991, in neighbouring countries. Travelling exhibitions were also set up (in 1985 and 1986), as well as conferences, in particular on the conversion of industrial sites in cooperation with the Société Royale Belge des Ingénieurs et des Industriels (1987), not to mention the international congress of the TICCIH in 1990. Formal contacts were made with the industrial archaeology services of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. P.I.W.B. also took part, in 1994, in the Walloon Region Heritage Days, focusing on industrial archaeology.
 

Finally, frequent contacts were made with public representatives with the aim of raising awareness, in addition to the continuous dialogue with Belgium’s French-speaking Community. The Ministry for Regional Development asked the association to compile an inventory of Walloon industrial sites, a project which was carried out between 1991 and 1993, although other authorities subsequently completed it in their own names. In fact, the question was already arising of choice in the intervention of the public authorities in matters of rehabilitation. Meanwhile, the very concept of industrial archaeology was expanding considerably, calling for vigilance extended to other fields - ancestral technologies and proto-industries, tangible as well as intangible heritage, oral history, etc.

About - PresidentsPIWB2.jpg

 

The four presidents of "Patrimoine industriel Wallonie-Bruxelles".
From left to right : Jean-Louis Delaet, Bruno Van Mol, Jean Defer and Claude Gaier. (c) Claude Depauw, 2007.

 

The creation and beginnings of PIWB were, for me, an exciting experience, shared with administrators – some of whom, alas, are no longer with us – and members who were often highly motivated. I can modestly say that I feel I have made a contribution on one hand to knowledge of a historical phenomenon which I see as one of the most important in human development - the Industrial Revolution - and, on the other, to strengthening the French-speaking identity in Belgium (and not exclusively) and finally promoting the image of this community and of Belgium abroad. As Cicero said, “jucundi acti labores” - “happy is he whose work is done”. But is it ever all done? My successor, Jean Defer, and those who came after him, have taken on other tasks, other challenges, in a changing context. But that’s another story…

 

 

Claude GAIER
Former founding President
September 2007

 

 


Addresses

Jean-Louis DELAET,
President
Le Bois du Cazier
Rue du Cazier, 80
B-6001 MARCINELLE (Belgium)
Tel. : 0(032) 71 88 08 56
Fax : 0(032) 71 88 08 57
wyqrynrg+cngevzbvarvaqhfgevry+or
Jacques CRUL,
Secretary
rue Lambert Marlet, 23
B-4670 BLEGNY
w.pehy+oyrtalzvar+or
Claude DEPAUW,
Treasurer
Rue Sainte Germaine, 176
B-7700 MOUSCRON
py-qrcnhj+fpneyrg+or​​

 

 


Library

 

The Association Library can be consulted at the Liege Archives and Documentation Centre of the Coal Industry (CLADIC).

vasb+cngevzbvarvaqhfgevry+or
Rue Lambert Marlet 17
B-4670 BLEGNY
Tel. : 0(032) 4 237 98 18
Fax : 0(032) 4 387 58 50
OPAC : www.bibliocladic.be
CLADIC Ext�rieur
 

 

 


Our partners

Partenaires - cfwb.jpg The Ministry for the French-speaking Community of Wallonia-Brussels
The Walloon heritage institute

 

 


Board of Directors

President :
Jean-Louis DELAET
Vice Presidents :
Guido VANDERHULST
Claude MICHAUX
Secretary :
Jacques CRUL
Treasurer :
Claude DEPAUW
Members :
Gilles DURVAUX
Joëlle PETIT
Bruno VAN MOL
Maryse WILLEMS

 

 


Contact and Membership

Contact

For more information or details of our association, our activities, our publications and our documents, please fill in the form below, selecting “Demande d’informations”, and we’ll let you have our reply as soon as possible.

Membership

If you would like to join our association, just send an application to the Board of Directors, either by post to one of the addresses given here or using the form below, selecting the line “Demande d’affiliation”.

Once your application has been accepted, you will be asked to pay an annual fee (which includes a copy of the magazine "Des usines et des hommes") of :

  • €25 for individual membership

  • €60 in the case of an association

  • €120 if you are a commercial company

Payments should be made into Account No. BE26 0682 0199 3029 | BIC : GKCCBEBB, quoting your details.

 


Form

  1.  


  2.

Qui sommes-nous ?

PATRIMOINE INDUSTRIEL WALLONIE-BRUXELLES asbl

Introduction

Aux origines de P.I.W.B. : moments vécus

Jusque dans les années 1960, l'opinion la plus éclairée, dans sa grande majorité, n'avait guère conscience, en Belgique, de la valeur historique des vestiges matériels du passé industriel. Certes, il y avait d'heureuses exceptions, comme les sauveteurs du site du Grand Hornu, les promoteurs du futur Musée du fer et du charbon de Liège ou des amateurs et chercheurs isolés tels René Evrard à Liège ou Georges van den Abeelen à Bruxelles. Grâces leur soient rendues, car ils eurent la prémonition que, sous les coups de boutoir des avancées technologiques et des bouleversements économiques, les entreprises nées de la Révolution industrielle allaient subir de profondes mutations, voire disparaître. Or, le contexte était favorable à des démarches de sauvegarde plus systématiques, car des pays étrangers montraient déjà la voie, comme le Royaume Uni (à tout seigneur tout honneur !) avec le complexe de l'Iron Bridge, ou la Suède et l'Allemagne.

En 1973, Georges van den Abeelen créait le "Centre d'archéologie industrielle" qui, en mettant sur pied à Bruxelles, deux ans plus tard, l'exposition "L'homme et la machine", fut le véritable déclencheur de l'intérêt pour le sujet en Belgique, appuyé par des historiens et archéologues venus d'autres horizons mais orientés vers ce champ nouveau d'investigation, tels Marinette Bruwier, Jacques Stiennon, Luc-Francis Génicot, et d'autres encore qui, bien avant, avaient abordé le sujet presque sans le savoir – mais fort bien – un peu comme Monsieur Jourdain faisant de la prose. En 1978 naissait en Flandre la "Vlaamse Vereeniging voor Industriële Archeologie" (la V.V.I.A.) animée par quelques personnalités jeunes et dynamiques, totalement dédicacées à ce domaine peu couru. Le résultat de cette initiative ne se fit guère attendre, car bientôt l'association néerlandophone occupa, au plan national, une place prépondérante et même, au niveau international, finit par faire figure de représentant de la Belgique toute entière alors qu'en principe, elle avait été fondée pour illustrer l'apport de la Flandre en matière d' archéologie industrielle. Curieux paradoxe alors que, précisément, cette région était venue assez tardivement à l'industrialisation, contrairement à la Wallonie, seconde après l'Angleterre dans cette voie. Entre-temps, une association mondiale d'archéologie industrielle, le TICCIH, avait été fondée en Suède, en 1978. Elle représente depuis lors l'instance supérieure dans ce secteur et tient régulièrement des congrès internationaux, dont celui, en Belgique, en 1990, co-organisé par PIWB.

 

Logo 1984-1987       Logo 1987-1992

 

 

Les années septante furent résolument marquées par un foisonnement extraordinaire d'études, de projets et de reportages consacrés au patrimoine industriel ancien. Le sauvetage et la réhabilitation figuraient désormais à l'ordre du jour, en négligeant parfois la nécessité des choix, du financement et de la viabilisation à terme. Quoiqu'il en soit, la Belgique francophone se devait de revendiquer sa place dans le contexte d'une fédéralisation en marche et par simple respect pour son identité historique, où l'industrie a tenu une si large place. Ainsi, sous l'impulsion et avec l'appui de l'Exécutif de la Communauté française fut fondée, le 22 février 1984, l'association sans but lucratif "Patrimoine industriel Wallonie-Bruxelles", que j'eus l'honneur de présider d'emblée et durant les dix premières années de son existence. Les trente-quatre membres fondateurs étaient animés du même désir de défendre et d'illustrer le patrimoine industriel ancien de leur communauté, dans un souci aussi bien scientifique qu'identitaire. La même année était crée un bulletin de liaison : "Patrimoine industriel". Le modeste numéro 1, de type "desk top", fut désormais suivi, dès le numéro suivant, d'une présentation imprimée en bonne et due forme. Ce périodique demeure aujourd'hui, près d'un quart de siècle plus tard, une contribution appréciée dans le domaine qui est le sien. Articles, reportages, comptes rendus, nouvelles brèves apportent aux membres et aux autres une information soutenue et, on peut l'espérer, un stimulant à leur centre d'intérêt particulier.

En 1984 encore, la section belge du TICCIH, dénommée "TICCIH Belgium" fut structurée en équilibrant, cette fois, le nouveau P.I.W.B. et son aînée, la V.V.I.A.

Logo 1993-1997

 

Les tâches de PIWB étaient multiples, tant son domaine de prédilection était alors nouveau. Il s'agissait de mettre en valeur les grands sites réhabilités et d'encourager la préservation de ceux, alors nombreux, qui pouvaient l'être. Il fallait aussi gérer une association qui couvrait une aire assez vaste, nécessitant de nombreux déplacements du conseil d'administration, tant pour diversifier les lieux de rencontre que pour se rendre compte des réalités locales. En 1987, ces déplacements furent étendus aux membres eux-mêmes, en leur offrant la possibilité de visiter les divers sites intéressants au cours d'excursions organisées en Belgique et, par la suite, dès 1991, dans les pays limitrophes. On mit également sur pied des expositions itinérantes (en 1985 et 1986), des colloques, notamment celui sur la reconversion des sites industriels en collaboration avec la Société royale belge des ingénieurs et des industriels (1987), sans parler du congrès international du TICCIH en 1990. Des contacts formels furent noués avec les services d'archéologie industrielle du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg. P.I.W.B. participa également, en 1994, aux Journées du Patrimoine en région wallonne, axées sur l'archéologie industrielle.

Enfin, des contacts fréquents furent noués avec des mandataires publics, dans un but de sensibilisation, outre ceux, constants ceux-là, avec la Communauté française de Belgique. Le Ministre de l'Aménagement du Territoire confia à l'association un inventaire des sites industriels wallons, projet qui fut mené de 1991 à 1993, même si d'autres instances s'assurèrent le privilège, par la suite, de le parachever en leur nom. Déjà, en effet, se posait la question des choix dans l'intervention des services publics en matière de réhabilitation. Entre-temps, le concept même d'archéologie industrielle était en train de s'élargir considérablement, incitant à une vigilance étendue à d'autres domaines : techniques ancestrales et proto-industries, patrimoine mobilier et pas seulement immobilier, histoire orale

 

About - PresidentsPIWB2.jpg

 

Les quatre présidents de "Patrimoine industriel Wallonie-Bruxelles".
De gauche à droite : Jean-Louis Delaet, Bruno Van Mol, Jean Defer et Claude Gaier. (c) Claude Depauw, 2007.

 

La création et les débuts de PIWB ont constitué, pour moi, une expérience enthousiasmante, partagée avec des administrateurs – dont certains, hélas, ne sont plus – et des adhérents souvent très motivés. J'en retire, en toute modestie, le sentiment d'avoir apporté ma contribution, d'une part à la connaissance d'un phénomène historique que je considère comme un des plus importants de l'évolution de l'humanité : la Révolution industrielle, d'autre part au renforcement de l'identité francophone en Belgique (et ceci sans exclusive) et enfin à la promotion de l'image de cette communauté et de la Belgique à l'étranger. Jucundi acti labores, "heureux les travaux finis", disait Cicéron. Mais le sont-ils jamais ? Mon successeur, Jean Defer, et ceux après lui ont assumé et assument d'autres tâches, d'autres défis, dans un contexte mouvant. Mais ceci est une autre histoire …

 

 

Claude GAIER
Ancien président fondateur
14 septembre 2007

 

 


Adresses

J.-L. DELAET,
Président
Le Bois du Cazier
Rue du Cazier, 80
B-6001 MARCINELLE (Belgique)
Tél. : 0(032) 71 88 08 56
Fax : 0(032) 71 88 08 57
wyqrynrg+cngevzbvarvaqhfgevry+or
 
Jacques CRUL,
secrétaire
rue Lambert Marlet, 23
B-4670 BLEGNY
w.pehy+oyrtalzvar+or
Claude DEPAUW,
trésorier
Rue Sainte Germaine, 176
B-7700 MOUSCRON
py-qrcnhj+fpneyrg+or​

 

 


Bibliothèque

 

La bibliothèque de l'association est consultable au Centre Liégeois d’Archives et de Documentation de l’Industrie Charbonnière (CLADIC).

Rue Lambert Marlet 17
B-4670 BLEGNY
Tél. 0(032) 4 237 98 18
Fax 0(032) 4 237 98 51
 
Catalogue accessible à l'adresse www.bibliocladic.be

 

 
 
 
 
 
CLADIC Exterieur
CLADIC Salle de lecture

 

 


Nos partenaires

La Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles
 
L'Institut du patrimoine wallon

 

 


Conseil d’administration

Président :
Jean-Louis DELAET
Vice-présidents :
Guido VANDERHULST
Claude MICHAUX
Secrétaire :
Jacques CRUL
Trésorier :
Claude DEPAUW
Membres :
Gilles DURVAUX
Florence LORIAUX
Stéphanie MARCHANDISE
Joëlle PETIT
Bruno VAN MOL
Maryse WILLEMS
 

 

 


Contact et Affiliation

Contact

Besoin d'informations ou de renseignements concernant notre association, nos activités, nos publications, nos documents? Complétez le formulaire ci-dessous en sélectionnant "Demande d'informations". Nous vous répondrons dans les plus brefs délais.

Affiliation

Vous souhaitez devenir membre de notre association? Il convient d'adresser une demande d'affiliation au Conseil d'administration, soit par courrier, à l'une des adresses reprises ici, soit via le formulaire suivant en sélectionnant la ligne "Demande d'affiliation".

Une fois votre demande acceptée, il vous sera demandé une cotisation annuelle (comprenant un exemplaire de la revue "Des usines et des hommes") de :

  • 25 € en tant qu'individuel
  • 60 € si vous êtes une association
  • 120 € si vous êtes une société commerciale

Cette cotisation est à verser sur le compte de l'asbl BE26 0682 0199 3029 | BIC : GKCCBEBB  en indiquant en communication vos coordonnées.


Formulaire

  1.  


  2.